Improving Trauma Care Worldwide

Highlights of 2016 International Trauma Conference

The 2016 International Trauma Conference, held October 27-29 in San Antonio, Texas, was a success with more than 260 trauma care and EMS professionals from 20 countries worldwide in attendance.

See all conference photos on Facebook

img_5815Board of Directors Elections

Three members of the Board of Directors were elected during the conference’s Business Session. Serving his first term on the Board of Directors is Miles Darby, EMT-P, Chapter Coordinator for ITLS Pennsylvania. Returning to the Board are Tony Connelly, EMT-P, BHSc, PCGEd., of Alberta, Canada, and Gianluca Ghiselli, MD, of Italy.

ITLS Annual Awards

Four individuals were honored at the conference with ITLS’ annual awards.

Pete Gianas, MD, of Florida, was presented with the Jackie Campbell Award. This special award is ITLS’ highest honor and recognizes individuals for their enduring service as “the wind beneath our wings.” Dr. Gianas is a former ITLS Board member and longtime medical director of ITLS Florida.

Rick Murray, Director of EMS and Disaster Preparedness at the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP), was presented with the ITLS Ambassador Award for his work in promoting ITLS programs and demonstrating a clear belief in the ITLS mission. Mr. Murray has been instrumental in facilitating a solid partnership between ITLS and ACEP.

Lisa Hrutkay, DO, FACEP, Chapter Medical Director for ITLS Mid-Atlantic, was presented with the John Campbell, MD, FACEP, ITLS Medical Director of the Year Award. Dr. Hrutkay has served as the Medical Director for ITLS West Virginia, and now ITLS Mid-Atlantic, for many years.

Corey Pittman, EMT-P, of North Carolina, was honored posthumously with the Pat S. Gandy, RN, ITLS Coordinator of the Year Award. The award recognizes Mr. Pittman’s outstanding leadership and service in promoting ITLS and prehospital trauma training under the North Carolina chapter until the time of his unexpected death earlier in 2016.

Roy Alson, PhD, MD, FACEP, authored and read a memorial resolution in honor of Mr. Pittman and Terry DeRhodes, EMT-P, longtime North Carolina Chapter Coordinator who also passed away in 2016.

ITLS Competition

Four teams competed in the annual ITLS Trauma Competition at the conference, using the ITLS assessment to triage and treat trauma patients in three creative and challenging simulated scenarios.

Teams represented Niagara EMS, North East Ambulance Service UK, Slovenia, and West Virginia – Berkeley County Ambulance Authority.

The team from Niagara EMS was again declared the winner of the 2016 Competition. Team members were captain Tracy Groszeibl, ACP, Brock Browett, ACP, Connor McCulloch, ACP, and Len Kowalik, ACP.

The 2017 conference will be held November 3-5, 2017 in Quebec City, Quebec, Canada.