Improving Trauma Care Worldwide

ITLS Provider

ITLS Provider includes 8 hours of classroom instruction, 8 hours of hands-on skills training, and testing for ITLS Basic or Advanced certification. Innovative skills stations let you practice the abilities appropriate for your level of certification.

With its comprehensive approach to core knowledge and skills, ITLS Provider is appropriate for all levels of EMS personnel—from EMT-Bs and first responders to advanced EMTs, paramedics, trauma nurses, and physicians.

Course Content

The course manual is the 9th edition ITLS for Emergency Care Providers text. Buy now

Digital edition is available via VitalSource to selected countries only.
VitalSource options:  EPUB Format  |  PDF Format

Digital editions available:  VitalSource eTextbook Subscription  |  Kindle edition

Course length: 16 hours

Scene Size-up
Trauma Assessment and Management
Airway Management
Thoracic Trauma
Head Trauma
Spinal Trauma
Abdominal Trauma
Extremity Trauma
Pediatric Trauma
Geriatric Trauma
Trauma in Pregnancy
The Impaired Patient
Trauma Arrest
Standard Precautions

Skills Stations:
Assessment skills
Airway skills
Thoracic trauma skills
Vascular access skills
Spine management skills
Extremity trauma skills

Written Exam
Practical Exam

View Sample Course Agendas

View Compiled Chapter Objectives

Core Curriculum Changes

In January 2017, ITLS released new guidelines related to the ITLS core curriculum that offer more flexibility in the delivery of ITLS Provider programs and a more engaging experience for our learners.

Previously, the ITLS curriculum stated that all textbook chapters and their associated lectures must be taught in an ITLS Provider program. The changes to this requirement as outlined below focus on the core principles that should ensure a high-quality trauma care program.

The following core content will now be the requirement for all ITLS Provider courses:

  • Scene Size-up
  • Trauma Assessment and Management
  • Shock Evaluation and Assessment
  • Trauma Arrest
  • Trauma in Pregnancy
  • Pediatric Trauma
  • Geriatric Trauma

While these are the required topics for all ITLS Provider courses, it does not mean that these subjects are the only subjects that should be taught. The course must continue to be a minimum of 16 hours. The local course coordinator in consultation with course medical director will have the flexibility to decide what additional subjects should be added to the course to make it a complete program.

View Core Curriculum Guidelines and Sample Agenda