Improving Trauma Care Worldwide

Continuing Education

The Commission on Accreditation of Pre-Hospital Continuing Education (CAPCE) [formerly CECBEMS] has accredited ITLS courses to provide continuing education hours to EMS professionals. CAPCE credit is accepted by numerous national, state and local organizations, including the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians, as the standard in EMS CE.

CAPCE Provider Number:  ITLS0026

CAPCE has accredited ITLS courses for the following hours:

  • ITLS Advanced Provider:  16.0
  • ITLS Basic Provider:  16.0
  • ITLS Combined Provider: 16.0
  • ITLS eTrauma – Taking Trauma Training Online: 8.0
    (Online program – designated F3 by CAPCE)
  • ITLS Completer: 8.0
  • ITLS Provider Recertification – 2-Day (Advanced or Basic): 16.0
  • ITLS Provider Recertification – 1-Day (Advanced or Basic): 8.0
  • ITLS Military Provider: 16.0
  • ITLS Access Provider: 8.0
  • ITLS Pediatric Provider: 8.0
  • ITLS Instructor: 8.0
  • ITLS 8th Edition Instructor Update : 1.0
    (Online program – designated F3 by CAPCE)
  • ITLS Pediatric Instructor: 8.0
    (NOTE: Students may not claim credit hours for both ITLS Pediatric Provider and ITLS Pediatric Instructor within a certification period.)
  • ITLS Instructor Bridge: 8.0
  • ITLS Provider Bridge: 8.0
  • ITLS Instructor Course Online Component: 3.25
    (Online program – designated F3 by CAPCE)
  • ITLS Instructor Course Classroom Component: 6.75

All courses are Live Courses (designated F1 or F2 by CAPCE) unless noted above.

In addition, CAPCE hours are awarded for the annual International Trauma Conference and its associated workshops. Hours for these programs vary depending on the agenda.

Continuing education credit specifically for physicians (CME) and nurses (CNE) may be obtained for individual courses but is not available globally.