Improving Trauma Care Worldwide

Highlights of the 2009 International Trauma Conference


View Conference Photos

The 2009 International Trauma Conference on November 4-8, 2009, in Charlotte, North Carolina was a success, attracting 240 physicians, nurses, and EMS personnel from 14 countries and territories worldwide. Representatives from Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Italy, Japan, The Netherlands, Palestine, Poland, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, and the United States were in attendance. The conference’s Opening Session kicked off with the Charlotte Fire Department’s Honor Guard and full Pipe and Drums. Several local officials, including Jon Hannan, Charlotte Fire Department Chief, and Regina Godette-Crawford, Assistant Chief of Administration for the North Carolina Office of EMS, welcomed the participants to the city. North Carolina ITLS organized the conference’s social event, the M*A*S*H Bash. Participants came dressed for the occasion in army fatigues, scrubs, and even bathrobes (in homage to Hawkeye) and were greeted at the door with ITLS dog tags. The event was sponsored by North Carolina ITLS, the North Carolina College of Emergency Physicians, Carolina Health Specialists, and Novant Health. A special thanks to Dr. Bill Sherrod, MD, North Carolina ITLS Medical Director, and Terry DeRhodes, EMT-P, North Carolina ITLS Chapter Coordinator, for all of their hard work in putting together this great event. North Carolina Team Takes First Place in 2009 ITLS Competition The North Carolina team representing Surry County was selected as the winner of the 2009 ITLS Competition. Team members were: Roger Horton, EMT-P, Barry McMillian, EMT-P, and Robert Coleson, EMT-P. The North Carolina-Surry County team competed against teams from Ontario and North Carolina-First Health in the Competition’s Finals Round. Representing Ontario were: George Eliadis, Lorne Burns, and Fred Galvan. Representing North Carolina-First Health were: Billy Eldridge, EMT-P, Marvin Hudson, EMT-P, and Shane Lisenby, NREMT-P. Teams from Palestine, Japan, and North Carolina-Air Care also competed in the Preliminary Round of the Competition.

Annual ITLS Awards Recognize Commitment, Leadership

ITLS presented its annual awards at the conference on Friday, November 6. Six members of the ITLS community were presented with awards to recognize them for their ongoing commitment to the ITLS program. David Maatman, NREMT-P/IC, ITLS Michigan Chapter Coordinator, was presented with the Jackie Campbell Award for his enduring service to the organization as the “wind beneath our wings.” Mr. Maatman, a member of the ITLS Editorial Board, has been pivotal in 2009 in accomplishing several major projects, including the ITLS Pediatric textbook and instructor materials, of which he served as Task Force Chair and Lead Reviewer; the development of ITLS eTrauma, as a lesson content writer, dedicated reviewer, member of the Implementation Task Force, and pilot site coordinator; and the 6th Edition ITLS Instructor Update Online (to be released shortly). Jim Boise, RN, CCRN, CFRN, of Arizona, was honored with the ITLS Ambassador Award for his dedication to promoting ITLS programs and for demonstrating a clear understanding of the ITLS mission. Mr. Boise has been a frequent presenter at the International Trauma Conference, teaching at the 2005, 2007 and 2009 programs. A longtime instructor, Mr. Boise is very active on the ITLS Arizona chapter as well, serving on the Advisory Committee since 2000, acting as a conference delegate annually since 2002, and instructing everywhere he is needed. Mary Hancock, MD, FACEP, ITLS Ohio Medical Director, was honored for her outstanding medical direction of courses and ITLS leadership with the John Campbell Medical Director of the Year Award. This is the second time Dr. Hancock has received this award for her continued commitment and dedicated leadership of the ITLS Ohio chapter. Youta Kanesaki, EMT-P, ITLS Japan Chapter Coordinator, was presented with the Pat Gandy Coordinator of the Year Award for his outstanding leadership in promoting ITLS and prehospital trauma training. Under Mr. Kanesaki’s direction, the Japan chapter has become one of ITLS’ most active chapters, aiding with Japanese translations of the textbooks and certifying numerous providers and instructors annually. The Ray Fowler Instructor of the Year Award was awarded to Fred Zeidler, MD, of Croatia, for his excellence in teaching and innovation in ITLS programs. Dr. Zeidler could not attend the conference to receive his award in person, so Dr. Fowler, a conference presenter this year, illustrated Dr. Zeidler’s numerous accomplishments and qualifications. The Harvey Grant Memorial Award for excellence in developing and promoting ITLS Access programs was presented to Brandon Kenall, EMT-P, of the Missouri chapter. Mr. Kenall is a paramedic at St. John’s EMS in Buffalo, Mo., and teaches emergency services courses, including the ITLS Access courses, throughout Missouri. As another well-received conference concludes, ITLS is already looking forward to next year. The 2010 International Trauma Conference will be held in Reno, Nevada, at the Atlantis Resort Casino Spa on November 4-6. We hope to see representatives from all of our chapters in 2010!


IMG_6539Members of the ITLS Board of Directors, Editorial Board, Committees, and Chapter representatives pose together at the conclusion of the conference’s Opening Session.

IMG_6543Roy Alson, MD, PhD, FACEP, Editorial Board Member and North Carolina Chapter; John Campbell, MD, FACEP, ITLS President and founder; and Ray Fowler, MD, FACEP, one of the program’s founding authors, reminisce about the early days of BTLS.


The Charlotte Fire Department’s Honor Guard and Pipe and Drums welcomed participants to Charlotte the Opening Session of the conference.

IMG_6507 IMG_6508

LEFT: Regina Godette-Crawford, Assistant Chief of Administration for the North Carolina Office of EMS, welcomes the conference to North Carolina and thanks everyone for coming.RIGHT: Bill Sherrod, MD, FACEP, North Carolina ITLS Chapter Medical Director, invites participants to attend the conference’s social event that he was instrumental in organizing.

IMG_6683The members of the winning 2009 ITLS Competition team, representing North Carolina – Surry County. Team members are (left to right): Barry McMillian, EMT-P, Roger Horton, NREMT-P, and Robert Coleson, EMT-P.

IMG_6672 IMG_6676

The North Carolina – Surry County team during one of the scenarios of the Competition.

IMG_7068 IMG_7070

LEFT: Brandon Kenall, EMT-P, of Missouri, receives the Harvey Grant Memorial Award for Excellence in ITLS Access.RIGHT: Youta Kanesaki, EMT-P, of Japan, accepts the Pat Gandy Coordinator of the Year award.

IMG_7074 IMG_7082

LEFT: Jim Boise, RN, CCRN, CFRN, of Arizona, proudly displays his ITLS Ambassador Award.RIGHT: Dr. Campbell congratulates David Maatman, NREMT-P/IC, of Michigan, on receiving the Jackie Campbell Award.

IMG_7078 IMG_7079

Mary Hancock, MD, FACEP thanks Dr. Campbell after being presented with the John Campbell Medical Director of the Year Award.

IMG_6583Presenter Nadine Levick, MD, MPH discusses the multiple facets of ambulance safety in one of the conference’s general sessions.

IMG_6721Dr. Campbell poses with Tony Cellitti, NREMT-P / FFIII, of the Illinois chapter. Mr. Cellitti was the winner of the M*A*S*H Bash’s “Best Klinger” costume.

IMG_6732Editorial Board members Art Proust, MD, John Campbell, MD, FACEP, Donna Hastings, MA, EMT-P, and Roy Alson, MD, PhD, FACEP enjoy the M*A*S*H Bash.

IMG_6773Some of the best costumes at the M*A*S*H Bash.

IMG_6990M*A*S*H Bash attendees get into the performance by the REACH Band.

IMG_6604 IMG_6606
IMG_6607 IMG_6608
IMG_6611 IMG_6616
IMG_6612 IMG_6613

Representatives for ITLS chapters around the globe, including Japan, Arkansas, Australia, Alberta, Brazil, South Africa, Saskatchewan, and North Carolina.