Improving Trauma Care Worldwide

Highlights of 2015 International Trauma Conference

The 2015 International Trauma Conference, held November 10-13 in Las Vegas, Nevada, was a success with one of the largest attendance counts in conference history. More than 300 trauma care and EMS professionals from 20 countries worldwide attended.

The conference opened with true Vegas flair: Elvis welcomed participants and performed, while Las Vegas showgirls passed out decks of playing cards.

Jump to Photo Galleries

Board of Directors Elections

Three members of the Board of Directors were elected during the conference’s Business Session. Serving their first terms on the Board of Directors are Liz Cloughessy, AM, RN, MHN, FAEN, Chapter Coordinator for ITLS Australia & New Zealand, and Mary Hancock, MD, FACEP, Chapter Medical Director for ITLS Ohio. Returning to the Board is incumbent Jonathan Epstein, MEMS, NRP, Vice Chair of the Board and Chapter Coordinator for ITLS Massachusetts.

Jeffery Gilliard, NREMT-P, CCEMTP, FPC, BS, of Florida, was re-elected as Speaker. Amy Boise, NRP, FP-C, of Arizona, was elected Vice Speaker.

ITLS Annual Awards

Five individuals were honored at the conference with ITLS’ annual awards.

Roy Alson, PhD, MD, FACEP, Co-Editor and Editorial Board member, was presented with the Jackie Campbell Award. This special award is ITLS’ highest honor and recognizes individuals for their enduring service as “the wind beneath our wings.” Dr. Alson’s tremendous work on the 8th edition Provider manual and instructor materials was gratefully acknowledged.

Qirong Du, MD, Chapter Medical Director for ITLS Shanghai Xin Hua Hospital in China, was presented with the ITLS Ambassador Award for his work in promoting ITLS programs and demonstrating a clear belief in the ITLS mission. Dr. Du was instrumental in presenting the ITLS Asian Regional Conference in Shanghai in April 2015. Dr. Du was not present to accept his award but it was accepted on his behalf by his colleague, Lujia Tang, MD.

Michael Rushing, RN, BSN, NRP, CFRN, CEN, CPEN, CCRN-CMC, of Florida, was honored with the Pat S. Gandy, RN, ITLS Coordinator of the Year Award. The award recognizes Mr. Rushing’s outstanding leadership in promoting ITLS and prehospital trauma training under the Florida chapter.

Linda Sims, RN, of Australia, was presented with the ITLS Instructor for the Year Award, named in honor of Dr. Ray Flower for excellence in teaching and innovation in ITLS programs.

Wm. Bruce Patterson, BaBES, EMT-P, was presented with the ITLS Harvey Grant Memorial Award for outstanding leadership in ITLS Access, recognizing his dedication and efforts on the 3rd edition of the ITLS Access manual, released at the conference.

ITLS Competition

Seven teams competed in the annual ITLS Trauma Competition at the conference, using the ITLS assessment to triage and treat trauma patients in three creative and challenging simulated scenarios.

For the first time, the Competition was presented during the 2-day conference rather than as a pre-conference event, allowing conference participants to watch the scenarios and earn continuing education credit.

Teams represented Nevada, Niagara EMS, North East Ambulance Service UK, Toronto EMS, West Virginia, and two teams from Slovenia.

The team from Niagara EMS was again declared the winner of the 2015 Competition. Team members were captain Brock Browett, ACP, Emma Santon, PCP, Megan Daza, PCP, and Jonathan Dyck, ACP.

The team from Toronto EMS took second place. The team from North East Ambulance Service in the United Kingdom, first-time competitors, took third place.

The 2016 conference will be held October 27-29 at the Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas.

Photo Galleries


Business Sessions

Trauma Competition

Military Provider Course