Improving Trauma Care Worldwide

Highlights of the 2007 International Trauma Conference


More than 200 people from 14 countries attended the 2007 International Trauma Conference on October 12- 15, 2007, in San Antonio, Texas.

The 2007 conference marked the official rollout of the much-anticipated 6th edition ITLS provider manual and previewed the future of ITLS course management in a demo of the new online system that chapters began using on January 2, 2008.

The conference featured an international set of speakers including Bryan Bledsoe, MD, FACEP, EMT-P, Patricia Hastings, DO, Scott Bolleter, EMT-P, Liz Cloughessy, RN, AM, and Edward Racht, MD.

The annual ITLS Competition featured 6 teams competing in the Preliminary Round. The 2007 teams included: Alabama, Illinois, Italy, Japan, Ontario, and Texas. Alabama, Ontario, and Italy advanced to the Final Round, and the Alabama team was awarded first place for their performance in the scenario. Team members William Hall, NREMT-P, John Holliday, NREMT-P, Dea Calce, NREMT-P, and Nicolaus Ruehl, NREMT-P, and team captain Spencer Howard, NREMT-P, were recognized at the Awards Reception on October 14.

The recipients of ITLS’ annual awards were also honored at the Awards Reception. David Maatman, NREMT-P/IC, ITLS Michigan’s Chapter Coordinator, was recognized for his enthusiasm and expertise in teching ITLS with the Ray Fowler Instructor of the Year Award.

Jill Pendegrass, an ITLS Illinois course coordinator, was recognized for her ongoing dedication to providing ITLS courses in Illinois with the Pat Gandy Coordinator of the Year Award.

Roy Alson, MD, PhD, FACEP, of North Carolina, was honored for his many contributions to ITLS on the chapter and International level with the John Campbell Medical Director of the Year Award.

Rita Chambers, of Ohio, was honored for her dedication to promoting ITLS programs and for demonstrating a clear understanding of the ITLS mission with the ITLS Ambassador Award. This new award was established by the Board of Directors to recognize an individual who does not qualify for the other ITLS awards but has made a significant and long-term commitment to the organization.

Bruce Patterson, Captain/EMT-P was given the Harvey Grant Memorial Award for Excellence in ITLS Access. Mr. Patterson was not in attendance at the conference to receive his award.

The winners of the 2007 Images of Trauma Photo Competition were also recognized. Bernie Comtois, EMT-P of Massachusetts, was awarded First Place for his photo series, “Impaled Object.” Second place went to Andy Smith, EMT-P, of Georgia for his series, “Trauma in Georgia.”  Jose Arjona, EMT, from Colombia, won third place for his entry, called “Training.”

The reception also featured a special performance by Spensha Baker, a 14-year-old rising star whose singing talent has been featured on “Star Search.” ITLS thanks Spensha and her family for making her performance at the reception possible.

As another successful and well-received conference concludes, ITLS is already looking forward to next year’s event. The 2008 International Trauma Conference will be held in Guanajuato, Mexico, on November 6-8, 2008, so get your passport now and get ready for Guanajuato!

book-signingITLS authors (from left) J.T. Stevens, NREMT-P, Roy Alson, MD, PhD, FACEP, Donna Hastings, EMT-P, Walter Bradley, MD, MBA, FACEP, John Campbell, MD, FACEP, and Bill Pfeifer, MD, FACS, sign copies of the 6th edition manual.

mcmanus-speakerEditorial Board member Roy Alson, MD, PhD, FACEP, (left) and Board member Walter J. Bradley, MD, MBA, FACEP (right) compliment LTC John McManus, MD, MCR, FACEP on his session on hemostatic agents and hemorrhage control.

Campbell-McManusPresident John Campbell, MD, FACEP, thanks Ed Racht, MD, for his session on controversies on field management of trauma.

Alabama-competitionJudges look on as a member of the Alabama team cares for a patient during the final round of the ITLS Competition.

Competition-winnersMembers of the Alabama team (from left to right) Dea Calce, NREMT-P, William Hall, NREMT-P, Nicolaus Ruehl, NREMT-P, and John Holliday, NREMT-P, and team captain Spencer Howard, NREMT-P pose together after the announcement that Alabama won the ITLS Competition was made at the Awards Reception.

alson-awardDr. Bradley and ITLS President John Campbell, MD, FACEP (right) congratulate Roy Alson, MD, PhD, FACEP, of North Carolina, on his receiving the John Campbell Medical Director of the Year Award.

chambers-awardWalter Bradley, MD, MBA, FACEP poses with Rita Chambers, BBA, NREMT-P, of Ohio, after she was honored with the ITLS Ambassador Award at the 2007 International
Trauma Conference.

maatman-awardDavid Maatman, NREMT-P/IC, ITLS Michigan Chapter Coordinator, proudly displays his Ray Fowler Instructor of the Year Award.

pendegrass-awardJill Pendegrass, RN, of Illinois, shows off the Pat Gandy Coordinator of the Year Award she was honored with at the Awards Reception in San Antonio.

Japan-instructorupdateConference attendees from Japan practice techniques during the 6th Edition
Instructor Update with instructor Jim Boise, RN, from Arizona.

Italy-updateEnzo Croci, RN, and Roberto D’Angelo, RN, NREMT-P, from Italy, practice intubation at the Instructor Update.

Ontario-competitionOntario team (clockwise from bottom left) Jonathan Britton, ACP, Ed Coleclaugh, ACP, George Eliadis, ACP, and Ron Kowalik, ACP pose together before competing in the Final Round of the ITLS Competition.

Italy-competitionItaly team members Roberto D’Angelo, RN, NREMT-P, Enzo Croci, RN, and Enrico Corsi, RN, NREMT-P, also competed in the Finals.

Access-workshopThe participants and instructors at the ITLS Access preconference show off their work at the end of the course.